First and foremost, every state has different laws. Under current Florida Law, drivers are only required to carry $10,000.00 in personal injury protection (“PIP”) and $10,000.00 in property damage liability coverage. Automobile drivers and owners are not required to carry bodily injury liability insurance coverage. If they do carry bodily injury coverage, their insurance company, by law, is required to offer them uninsured motorist coverage in an equal amount to the bodily injury coverage. Driver’s can accept or reject this by submitting a form. Bodily injury coverage pays for injuries you may cause to others. On the other hand, ninsured motorist coverage pays you for injuries caused by another driver who may not have bodily injury coverage or not enough coverage to cover your damages. It is a good idea to obtain adequate uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, that is equal to that of ones bodily injury liability limits, Since Florida (and many other states) have a high number of uninsured and underinsured drivers on the roads.